top of page

Turkey time traditions

Every year I wait for the unveiling of the turkey.

Secretly hoping its not dry but very flavorful.

Praying I get a leg or at least get to share some of it.

I have prepared and cooked many turkeys in my time but unfortunetly my oven has not been working and so I had to let my extended family take on the task.

Now I'm familar with school plays and Charlie Brown's Thanks-giving episode but where does this tradition come from.

charie brown thanks giving.jpg

So I went looking and here's what I found....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thanksgiving_dinner

always a quick insight

How Did Thanksgiving Originate?

http://www.thelaboroflove.com/articles/how-did-thanksgiving-originate

Each year in November we all gather with our families and eat turkey, dressing, pumpkin pie, and plenty of other traditional foods. But, why do we celebrate Thanksgiving? And, how many of us know exactly how Thanksgiving originated? Most Americans think they have a pretty good idea, but its always nice to go over the beginning of Thanksgiving to remind us why we give thanks and how it all really started. Read More

.

How poultry made its way onto the holiday menu.

By Michelle Tsai

Turkey is a mainstay of the Thanksgiving dinner. But it's not necessarily the best-tasting beast around, nor the cheapest. So how did turkey come to monopolize the holiday? In a 2007 article reprinted below, Michelle Tsai explained.

On Thanksgiving, most of us will sit down to feast on a turkey dinner. The bird also shows up on the table at Christmas. How did we end up with the tradition of eating turkeys during the holidays? Read More

But really no matter where the tradition comes from its a yummy treat to get to enjoy during my favorite time of the year.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page